No menu items!
    HomeSample Page

    Sample Page Title


    NEW DELHI: The BJP cruised to a massive victory in Rajasthan on Sunday after winning 115 seats, comfortably crossing the 100-seat majority mark. The Congress, which was hoping to buck the trend of the incumbent being voted out in the state every five years, bagged 69 seats.

    Polling in 199 of the state’s 200 seats were held on November 25. The election in Sriganganagar’s Karanpur seat was postponed due to the death of the Congress candidate.
    While most pollsters had predicted an edge for the BJP, three exit polls in their upper limit had forecast a Congress win in the desert state.
    Results unexpected, says CM Gehlot
    Chief minister Ashok Gehlot said the assembly poll results were “unexpected for everyone” and added the party humbly accepted the people’s mandate.

    In a post on X, he said, “We humbly accept the mandate given by the people of Rajasthan. This is an unexpected result for everyone. This defeat shows that we were not completely successful in taking our plans, laws and innovations to the public.”
    The Congress candidates who secured victory include Sachin Pilot from Tonk, Shanti Dhariwal from Kota North, Tikaram Jully from Alwar Rural, and Anita Jatav from Hindaun. Gehlot, Brijendra Ola, Vishvendra Singh and Mahendra Jeet Singh Malvia also won their seats.

    Assembly Speaker C P Joshi of the Congress lost the election from Nathdwara to the BJP’s Vishvaraj Singh Mewar.
    Congress turncoats lost their seats in Bari and Nagaur in the Rajasthan assembly elections on Sunday, the Election Commission’s poll data showed.
    Girraj Singh Malinga, sitting MLA from Bari who switched over to BJP from the Congress, lost the seat to Bahujan Samaj Party (BSP) candidate Jaswant Singh Gurjar by a margin of 27,424 votes.
    At the same time, former Congress MP Jyoti Mirdha, who also joined the BJP and contested from Nagaur, lost to her Congress rival Harendra Mirdha by a margin of 14,620 votes, the Election Commission’s website showed.
    Here are the biggest and narrowest margins of victory in the 2023 Rajasthan elections:
    Top 5 narrowest vote margins:

    Constituency Candidate name Party Vote margin
    Kotputli Hansraj Patel BJP 321
    Kathumar Ramesh Khinchi BJP 409
    Udaipurwati Bhagawana Ram Saini Congress 419
    Jahazpur Gopichand Meena BJP 580
    Nohar Amit Chachan Congress 895

    Top 5 largest vote margins:

    Constituency Candidate name Party Vote margin
    Vidhyadhar Nagar Diya Kumari BJP 71,368
    Chorasi Rajkumar Roat Bharat Adivasi Party 69,166
    Shahpura Manish Yadav Congress 64,908
    Sahara Ladu Lal Pitliya BJP 62,519
    Shahpura Lalaram Bairwa BJP 59,298

    Rajasthan has come out of magician’s spell: BJP
    In the BJP camp, former chief minister Vasundhara Raje won from the Jhalrapatan seat, other BJP candidates who won are Diya Kumari from Vidhyadhnagar, Rajyavardhan Singh Rathore from Jhotwara, Samaram from Pindwara Abu, Govind Prasad from Manohar Thana, Jaswant Singh Yadav from Behror, Mahendra Pal Meena from Jamwa Ramgarh, Anita Bhadel from Ajmer South, and Madan Dilawar from Ramganj Mandi.
    As the counting of votes progressed, senior BJP leader and Union minister Gajendra Singh Shekhawat took a jibe at Gehlot, saying people have come out of the spell of the “magician”. “The ‘magic’ has ended and Rajasthan has come out of the spell of the magician. People have voted for the honour of women and for the welfare of the poor,” he said.
    Gehlot was born into a family of magicians and assisted his father during his tours.
    (With inputs from agencies)

    Source link

    We provide news from a variety of sources and platforms. As a result, you will be able to keep up with the most recent news on a daily basis

    Related articles

    Stay Connected


    Latest posts